Select Language English
Text size A A A
Donate Now to Friends of rotunda

Participation in Quality Initiatives

The Rotunda Hospital is committed to providing high quality, safe and reliable care to all mothers and babies. We take part in a number of quality initiatives both at national and international level. 

The following examples show our commitment to improving the care and services we provide.

symbol of baby friendly initiatve award

Baby Friendly Hospital Initiative 

The Rotunda was redesignated as a Baby Friendly Hospital during 2012, recognising that implementing best practice in maternity services is crucial to the success of programmes promoting breastfeeding. 

Implementation of the Ten Steps to Successful Breastfeeding ensures that the hospital supports and promotes informed parental choice through the provision of appropriate, accurate, unbiased information and discussion with women and their partners. 

The Rotunda maintained baby friendly status since becoming the first Dublin maternity hospital to achieve the award in 2006.

For further information on baby friendly please follow the link:

Laboratory Accreditation

High quality laboratory services are an integral component of the provision of safe care to patients. 

The Department of Laboratory Medicine operates a full quality management system that complies with the following international standards: 

ISO 15189
Medical Laboratories — Particular requirements for quality and competence 
ISO 22870 Point of Care — Requirements for quality and competence
For further information and for a full scope of our accreditation please follow the link:

Click Here

Vermont Oxford Network (VON) 

The neonatal unit participates in the VON, which is an international collaboration of over 800 neonatal units worldwide. 

The information obtained from the database allows us to benchmark and compare our care of infants born <1500 grams on a national and international level. 

The Rotunda compares favourably to the VON across most markers of neonatal care. 

National Standards 

Over the past number of years, the Health Information and Quality Authority (HIQA) and the Health Service Executive (HSE) have launched national standards for hospitals. 

Examples include the infection prevention and control standards and healthcare records standards. We assess how well we comply with the standards and identify any areas for improvement. 

The national standards for safer better healthcare were launched in June 2012. They aim to protect patients and to improve services. The standards are a first step towards a licensing system for the Irish healthcare system. During 2013 all hospitals must review and rate their performance against the standards. We will develop plans to close any gaps we identify during this review. The standards are grouped under eight themes, which are presented in the diagram below.

National Standards Diagram

| Register | Mobile Site| Cookie and Privacy Notice | Powered By Inventise | Translated By STAR